PRCA 3330 – Blog Comments

Blog Comment #1

AP Style Bootcamp :: Flagging Your AP Stylebook, by Barbara Nixon

February 3rd, 2010 (9:59 pm)

Good evening, Professor Nixon.
Thank you for taking the time out to create this video for us. My AP Stylebook is now full of useful tabs that I can use to reference to whenever I am writing. This “boot camp” gave the opportunity also to go through my entire book and review some old tips and to look over some sections I did not know were in it. It was interactive to be able to flip through the pages as I went along with the video and be able to pause-and-start at my own pace. While going through the video however, some of the pages were different in my book for some reason. I have the 2009 paperback edition. It looks the same as yours so I’m not sure. But anyway, thanks again. This video was useful. I can be a better writer using this book for PR assignments and for PR work outside of school as well.

Blog Comment #2

Would like some reactions to my reaction paper… by Matt Cook

April 4, 2010 (8:21 pm)

This is a great reaction paper and interesting documentary!
I can understand and agree with things you pointed out as well as make some other points as well:

– Some of the “models” in these music videos today definitely dress very provacatively or they barely dress at all. This is a horrible image for youth both male and female growing up and being exposed to women on TV dressing and dancing sexually! Even as a teenager, my mom and dad did not allow my younger sister and I to watch music videos on MTV, BET, or VH1. They did not want us to be tainted by the booty-shakers and hoodrats.
– Some black people try to justify the use of the N-word by saying that if it is used ending in “-gger” only then is it offensive, but if it is used ending in “-gga” that is might be acceptable even by an “urban” white person. “JUSTIFICATION”? but I have heard many African-American say this about the N-word situation in interviews.
– What can we do about it? Well, it would cause much controversy among older youth and young adults who are mature enough to enjoy these videos and music containing sex, drugs, and violence if we were to completely CENSOR or even eliminate everything that is offensive and harmful. So the bottom line is that it’s the parents’ complete responsibility to monitor what their children watch and what age they want to allow their mature son or daughter to be able to listen to music/movies/videos/magazines that are potentially harmful to their values. But as you stated, some kids unfortunately are not blessed with parents or guardians or even role models to take on this difficult task and are left alone for long periods of time with MTV and BET with no adult (or responsible adult) supervision! As citizens, we could try to volunteer our time then to children in the community via Boys & Girls Club, Girl/Boy Scouts, recreational sports groups, etc. in order to take part (even if we only play a small part) in the lives of kids.
For example, a couple of my female friends and I dedicated one to two days per week last year via the Girl Scouts by going to different summer camps, day cares, and elementary schools teaching them values and character traits.

Blog Comment #3

Topic of the Week: Twitter, by Tasmaii Craft

April 4, 2010 (8:32 pm)

HI, TASMAII! 😉 I enjoyed reading your perspective on Twitter, mostly because it is so opposite of mine! I can probably say that I don’t feel the way you do about Twitter because I have to admit that I am somewhat addicted to it, lol. What a shame!

Here are some suggestions that someone might find helpful when first joining Twitter and not being quite familiar with it yet (thus leading them to find it pointless and boring):

1. Professor Nixon gave us a long list of people she suggested we follow that included lots of PR practicioners and professors. If you did not find them interesting immediately, just give them a chance. You might find something they tweet one day to be helpful, i.e. An inspiring quote, a job opportunity in the area, a link to breaking news, a daily tip, etc.
2. The only way to get familiar with the “language” of Twitter is to keep watching other people’s tweets. You will find that there is now a button specifically for Re-Tweeting, which makes it easier to “RT” without having to copy and paste, so on and so on.
3. Trending Topics are what’s considered most hot at the time on Twitter. So if you see one on the sidebar that might interest you, click on it. There you will find people tweeting about that particular topic. And then, if you see one that is funny or interesting, you can go to that person’s page and follow them too!
4. Search for people you know if your current followees are boring you, lol. And besides following friends, classmates, professors, and celebs, another fun type of account to follow is brands! Follow your favorite designers, department stores, athletes/teams, and more! 😉

Blog Comment #4

Week 5- Super Bowl Ads, by Olivia Jordan

April 4, 2010 (8:39 pm)

Hello, Olivia!
Interesting post about the Super Bowl commercials this year – because I also hated that Taco Bell ad starring Mr. Barkley and that horrid song, lol. Like you, I also chose the Doritos commercial as one of my fav’s!

But the reason I am really commenting is because I’d like to share something I found hilarious about the E-Trade commercial! I think that’s a great commercial! But guess who didn’t find it so great??? LINDSAY LOHAN! She attempted to sue E-Trade for the commercial because she apparently thought that they were taking a shot at her reputation as an alcoholic (milk-a-holic) and a “boyfriend-stealer,” I suppose. Get this, she tried to sue them for $100 MILLION! She stated that it was a parody of her. Her lawyer even went so far as to say that they were using her famous name “Lindsay” as the baby’s name in the commercial for their own personal gain, abusing her rep. E-Trade’s defense was that they randomly chose a name of an E-Trade employee.

Lohan lost.

Lol. http://mashable.com/2010/03/09/lindsay-lohan-etrade/

Blog Comment #5

Responding To Negative News On The Internet, by Chris Yates

April 27, 2010, (10:49 pm)

You made some great points about image management in a crisis situation, Chris! Honestly, I think I would never want to work in the crisis management at a PR firm or for any corporation! I like challenges (lol) but handling bad news being leaked into the media about a business is such a delicate situation. Each and every step taken after the incident must be taken extremely seriously. Because a crisis is a crisis in itself!! Think about it. Tiger’s situation with his wife was a horrible crisis for his family and his marriage. But since he is indeed a public figure, it was another crisis when this news got leaked! Two crises in one. Go figure. I couldn’t handle that responsibility. Being a publicist or crisis manager for an individual or a company. Sorry for rambling on about crisis management but your post inspired it a little bit, lol!

Blog Comment #6

Viral Video Projects, by Barbara Nixon

April 27, 2010, (11:03 pm)

Omg! Now, I didn’t get to watch all of the viral videos but I must say that I’m glad I randomly click on the Communication Arts Department viral video that was created by Meghan Beytagh, Kati Ann Wright and Micaela Carter. That was so funny! Okay so I guess the point of viral videos is that it is either touching, hilarious, or inspiring. And their video was randomly humorous! I don’t get what it was really supposed to be advertising (if anything at all) but I liked it. I recognized most of the people that were in Veazy Hall in the video.  We’re like a big family, the Comm. Arts department.

Blog Comment #7

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on February 3, 2010, in GA Southern - PRCA 3330. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

