My Letter to the Man in the Moon

(I wrote this poem years ago, lol…)

Dear Man in the Moon, there’s a little girl out there somewhere

She’s sitting at her window sill, warm tears filling her eyes
She’s looking up at you hopelessly, she just wants a sign
Love tunes afloat in the cold air, heart break songs
For this guy she yearns and for love her young heart longs

Dear Man in the Moon, there’s a little girl out there somewhere

She’s laying on the grass, gazing up at you in your world
Among a black sea of sparkles you’re just a pearl
But this girl is so lonely, heart broken, and lost
He had sworn he loved her, his heart he crossed

Dear Man in the Moon, there’s a little girl out there somewhere

She thinks she knows what true love is but she’s only fifteen
He asks her to open her mind & body, but love aint what he means
She thinks he’s gonna leave her with her heart filled with bliss
But he doesn’t even give her a sweet good-night kiss

Dear Man in the Moon, there’s a little girl out there somewhere

She won’t look at you anymore, her face is down crying in her pillow
Fell for this guy who stole more from her than she knew she owned
She swears on her little life she will never love again
In her room, she’s blasting “The One I Gave My Heart To” over & over again

Dear Man in the Moon, there’s a young woman right here

Tonight I’m looking up at you and I see you have not changed
But I have, you see. And if I told you, you’d be amazed
You probably don’t remember me, because now I am free
From those youthful chains of first-loves misery
You probably don’t recognize me, but I was fragile and blue
Tonight I know all about this little girl because I was once her too

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on February 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

