Georgia Communication Association, Inc.

The 79th Annual Convention for the Georgia Communication Association, Inc. was held here at Georgia Southern University on February 19-20, 2010. I heard about the volunteer opportunity via my PR Events Management professor, Mrs. Urkovia Andrews, so I decided to sign up.

My job (bright and early at 7:30 am until 9:30 am) was to, first,  help with set-up. My classmate Jeff and I helped Dr. Muller and Dr. Brooks carry several supplies to the Foy Building from the parking lot, set up tables and balloons, and prepare the registration area. Some of the speakers for the convention arrived early, so we helped them carry items as well.

Once the registration officially began at 8 am, I stayed at the sign-up table to assist the presenters and guests in getting them registered for the convention, signed up for the luncheon and/or dinner, directing those who were first-time visitors to GSU who were lost, and distributing guest packages (which included tourist attraction pamphlets, maps, a restaurant directory, etc.) and even GSU’s own bottled waters.

I observed that several of the guests were already familiar with the school as well as  with some Georgia Southern professors. More importantly, I noticed that this was the first visit to our campus for many of the visitors. They complimented its size and beauty and asked for directions. So I knew that since my face would be one of the first to greet them here at Southern that I should wear a bright smile and give them a big, warm Georgia-Southern welcome! I didn’t let one person go by without that “Southern” hospitality. It’s just your duty when you’re representing this school, lol.

When our shift for volunteering was over, I was disappointed. It was very early in the morning, yes, but it had felt like I had only been helping out for about a half hour. Even worse, I got to peek at the convention program and saw some very interested topics, such as:

  • “Ohhhhh, the Things They Say: Fine Young Scholars and their Classroom Excuses”
  • ” ‘Is There Life Out There?’ Engaging Students with Non-Traditional Teaching Methods”
  • “Ethnic Group Name Changing and Racial Solidarity, Ethnic Self Determination, and Identity”
  • “Shaping the Female Image in the Media”
  • “Pitfalls, Pratfalls, and Prospects in Social Media”
  • “Social Networking Among College Freshman: A Comparison of a Traditional State University and a Historical Black College/University”
  • “Responding to Obama’s Challenge: A Critical Discourse Analysis of Racial and Ethnic Identity in an Online Learning Environment”
  • “There’s no place like uhmm…” on Great Ideas for Teaching Speech

I also noticed that some of my current and previous professors were presenters for many of the issues (i.e. Kent Murray, Barbara Nixon, Michelle Groover, Urkovia Andrews, Steve Stepanek, and Abby Brooks). It would have been very interesting if I had gotten a chance to hear their presentations. Unfortunately, I had to go to class and then go straight to my job afterward so I missed out!

If you get a chance next year, make sure you attend the 80th Annual GCA Convention!

[L.E.A.P. – Relevant volunteering for events in Professionalism & Career Development area – 1 point of 01 points]

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on March 3, 2010, in Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

