“My Black is Beautiful”

Sponsored by Procter & Gamble, BET will be airing their second season beginning May 2, 2010 of the television series “My Black is Beautiful.” Other partners include Crest, Olay, Tampax, CoverGirl, and Pantene.

This national campaign first made its way to the tube when it featured First Lady Michelle Obama on an inaugural episode in January 2009. The TV show will be hosted by well-established ladies of African-American descent and was designed to inspire and celebrate the beauty, power, and image of African-Americans.

Season 1 episode topics included the definition of Black beauty, shades of black, hair care, and body image and esteem. Season 1 was hosted by Tasha Smith (hilarious & hot, new actress from Tyler Perry movies), as well as panelists Tatyana Ali (actress known most for her role as “cousin Ashley” on Fresh Prince From Bel-Air), actresses Vanessa Williams, Wendy Raquel Robinson, Victoria Rowell, Sonja Sohn, and Kim Fields, and music artists Erica Campbell and Chrisette Michelle! And I can’t wait to see what Season 2 holds! New topics will include fashion, fitness, finances, and more…

In addition to the TV series, the “My Black is Beautiful” campaign includes a tour, discussion guide, and a Web site. Click their logo above to visit their site so you can join the movement, sign up for the e-newsletter, and to get tour dates.

And most of all, TUNE IN ON SUNDAY, MAY 2 @ 1:00PM!

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on April 19, 2010, in TV. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I had never heard of this show until I read your post. I think that this is such a wonderful show and it is about time that black women have a show dedicated just to them and to issues that pertain to them. Too many of the makeup and makeover shows currently on television feature white women. I would also be interested in watching the show just to see the tip and tricks that are shown. You never know what you might learn. I can remember being confused in elementary school when talking with my black girl friends about our hair. How could perming my hair make it curly and when they perm their hair it straightens it? It’s funny how things work.

    • Lol, that’s so funny you say that! Because I just “permed” my hair two days ago to straighten my roots just a little bit! It doesn’t get nappy per se, but it gets coarse-looking and dry.
      Anywho, thanks for reading and commenting! I am also excited to see the show because I never did get to watch Season 1.

  1. Pingback: Blog Comments « PR Social Media & Writing

Leave a Reply

