Girl Scouts: Summer Camp Day 1

I am all about Girl Scouts! After being inspired in 2008 by Vanessa and Angela Simmons’ Girl Scouts campaign (Russell Simmons’ daughters), I decided to begin volunteering here in Statesboro with various Girl Scouts projects. Now this summer I will repeat a summer camp program with the girls at Childcare Network that I lead last summer with two close friends Erika and Alex, and I am extremely excited! I have missed the girls so much! A few of them are in the 2009 photo below.

I am very passionate about giving back to the community, especially in a way that targets children – teaching them character traits, morals, manners, and skills, all to help them reach their highest potential. Our children are our future. “Each one reach one.”

DAY ONE (June 1st):

Today we all got to meet each other by introducing ourselves – we sat in a circle and told a little bit about ourselves, including our name, age, grade, school, favorite singer, and favorite food (the girls like listening to Beyonce, Hannah Montana, Michael Jackson, and country music and love eating pizza, chicken, and spaghetti)! I used this technique to take roll and also to help learn their names! I think I have everybody’s name downpacked for day uno. That’s great compared to last summer, lol. This summer there are about 15 girls ranging from age 4 to 9. We are set to meet for two months every Tuesday from 2 to 3:30 pm.

They were briefly taught the Girl Scout Promise. And to help them do so, we traced our right hands on construction paper, decorated them, cut them out, and stuck them on popsicle sticks. Then we taped the thumb and pinky together to resemble the way we should hold our right hands when we recite the Promise before and after camp sessions.

Since it was only day one, we spent most of our time getting to know one another by sitting in the circle and having discussions about what Girl Scouts is, what we will be doing during camp sessions, and what they like to do outside of school. I can recall one of them saying that she likes to take rides on sharks and another saying that her Yankee cousins from New York are coming to visit in July. Lol, these girls are something else! I am excited about this summer…

Today’s session reminded me that you have to stay on point with activities and topics in order to keep their attention. Their attention span is a maximum of 10 minutes it seems, lol! These little ladies are definitely going to keep me on my toes! I wish my friends Erika and Alex could be here this summer to help 🙂 I miss them too

 

^ that’s me!

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on June 1, 2010, in GIRL SCOUTS, Philanthropy. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. awww. Jas! So proud that you are giving back! Keep up the good work girlie!

Leave a Reply

