Omega Phi Alpha

As of two Fridays ago, I am now a pledge in Omega Phi Alpha National Service Sorority. I am definitely excited because I had no idea that a national organization even existed that is based around service! O-Phi-A is based on three principles: service, leadership, and friendship.

I participated in rush week, and on the last day, I was so excited waiting to receive my bid that I waited up until 1:30 a.m. At that point I fell asleep but my bid arrived about an hour later – an invitation in my front door. Actually, the  actives were supposed to be voting from 7:00 to 10:30 p.m. on which 25 of the 100+ interviewees would get a bid. But there were so many interested girls that time ran way over! Most of us had waited up very late to see if we received a bid or not. They ended up choosing 35 girls – their largest pledge class yet!

I’m excited to be able to have a chance to participate on a regular basis in giving back to my community alongside sisters who share the same interests as me. It doesn’t get better than that – serving those who are unfortunate while fortunate enough to have peers there with you who are just as passionate!

This weekend is the pledge retreat. We’re going to Jekyll Island! Look out for plenty of pictures! 🙂

About jasminestewart87

https://jasminestewart87.wordpress.com

Posted on September 30, 2010, in Philanthropy, WOMEN, Work/School Stories. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats Jazz! (:

Leave a Reply

